Lab Cat

9 Jan 2009

Knitting Summary 2008

Filed under: Knitting — Tags: — Cat @ 8:20 pm

In 2008 I seem to have completed over 30 different projects from shawl to scrumbles.  It was a great year for my knitting.  I continued with the old and started with the new, in particular I got heavily into knitting socks last year after deciding that I should at least try despite my arguments against.  My first pair was my Ravelympic Challenge:

My First Pair of Socks

My First Pair of Socks

Since the Olympics I have knitted another 3 pairs but I have been rather lax at taking photos of them though, as there only seems to be so many ways in which to show off sox.

Intwined Leaves Sock

Intwined Leaves Sock

Interestingly, I started the year with knitting to keep my hands warm.

Fetching - A Fingerless Mitten

Fetching - A Fingerless Mitten

As I am starting 2009 doing the same thing, it must be a January problem.

For Father’s Day I knitted Dad a tie:

Dads Tie

Dad's Tie

Later in the year Mum got a Rib Warmer:

Mums Rib Warmer

Mum's Rib Warmer

Throughout 2008 I struggled with Jessica and Robert’s Wedding present – did I say which year you would get it? It is going to be my priority from now on. Promise.

Cushion cover

Cushion cover

I participated in the Stitches with Style Wash Cloth knitalong. Even though I never attended any of the knitalong socials, I must have knitted 20 washcloths last year and I still have November’s and Decemeber’s to do.

The freestyle vest got renamed to Cloud and Sky vest and is laid out on the spare bed waiting for further attention.

Clouds and Sky Vest

Clouds and Sky Vest

Last year, I knitted a number of hats.  There was one for Lisa, one for PhysioProf (Dude, where’s my photo),  one for Mum (which was too big so there’s no photo) and one for Diane to match the Shifting Sands Scarf (um, also no photo).

For charity I knitted Baby Bear.  And I must send him off soon so he can get to his new home:

Baby Bear

Baby Bear

Finally over just before Christmas, I knitted my SIL a shoulder shawl.  Here is is model by my Mum:

Nickys Shawl

Nicky's Shawl

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, Cat, you’ve been productive this past year! I only managed to finish a few knitting projects, including an Anne Hanson lace scarf (with which I’m thrilled).

    I also started knitting socks this year, but I haven’t yet moved beyond a very simple pattern.

    Comment by barn owl — 10 Jan 2009 @ 10:19 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

