Lab Cat

26 May 2008

Garlic Chive Soup

Filed under: Food, Photo — Tags: , , , — Cat @ 1:00 pm

Chive Soup

I’m into green food at the moment. Last month was coriander hummus and this month is chive soup. It just happens that coriander was in abundance last month and chives are in abundance this and the coriander has bolted.

I had a recipe from the Guardian from 1994 by Richard Ehrlich* but appears that it is too old to be on line. I found a couple of similar recipes by searching for “Chive Soup”; you could try these instead: Potato, Cheddar and Chive Soup and Creamy Potato and Chive Soup. As I have more chives, I might try the former one later this week.

For the soup above, I decided adding milk and cream was totally unnecessary, so I took the vegetable stock soup I had made earlier (I am always doing this; I make veggie stock out of all the vegetable ends and remains I have and end up eating it as soup.) and added about 100 g garlic chives, blended soup and chives, and reheated it. I added Greek yoghurt before serving. I ate the first portion hot.

At first the soup tasted a little grassy, then the spicy part of the chives kicked in. I never considered chives to be hot spicy, but this soup was a little overpowering.

The second portion of soup was eaten cold with equal amounts for soup and yoghurt mixed together. This was the way to go.

My Version of Chive Soup:

Ingredients

1 onion chopped

1 carrot chopped

1 potato chopped

1/2 head broccili a little sad, chopped

stems from rest of broccoli chopped

Other sad veg from the veg drawer of your fridge (chopped)

water

bay leaf

oil

100 g freshly picked garlic chives

black pepper

cheese

Greek yoghurt

Instructions

Vegetable Stock Soup

  1. Fry onion in the oil until slightly brown.
  2. Add the bay leaf, carrot, potato and other veggies
  3. Fry for about 3 mins add water
  4. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a slow simmer. Cook until carrot and potato are mushable
  5. Remove bay leaf.
  6. Blend (I used my stick blender)
  7. Season with black pepper. Use salt too if you must.
  8. Eat as veggie soup with cheese

Pause for a few days.

Chive Soup

Pick your chives and wash them.

  1. Save a few stalks of chives for garnish. Chop the rest to 1″
  2. Blend with vegetable stock soup (I used a food processor and just left it on for a couple of minutes)
  3. Reheat soup for a few minutes
  4. If serving cold, chill in refrigerator for at least three hours.
  5. Serve with Greek yoghurt and chive slithers as garnish

Richard Ehrlich gave the advice that chives lose their flavor if cooked too long, so add them at the end.

*I cannot find anything about Richard Ehrlich and he seemed to stop writing for the Guardian in the 2004. There is a book of his recipes from the Guardian. Perhaps his Chive Soup recipe can be found in there.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

