Lab Cat

31 Dec 2007

NaJuReMoNoMo

Filed under: Books — Cat @ 5:58 pm

It is that time again. For the past two years, I joined in the NuJuReMoNoMo as started by Foma*

Logo

Click on the logo to find more information. The important bit:

[…] NaJuReMoNoMo is astoundingly easy. All you have to do is read any novel from start to finish within the month of January. You can read memoirs or non-fiction in January, they just don’t count towards your NaJuReMoNoMo total.

Why not join in?

I have three books I do not think I have read before:

  • Phillip Pullman Northern Lights (Golden Compass in the USA)
  • George Eliot Silas Marner
  • Sylvia Plath The Bell Jar

I have not read any Pullman yet, so it will be interesting to see how I get on. I may have read both the Eliot and the Plath novels, but they did not look familiar when browsing them in the library. My challenge this year is to read more slowly than usual and to try to make each novel last at least a week and not to read it all in one go. I will try to remember to blog about my process.

If any one has any novel recommendations, please let me know. If I do not get round to them this year, I can always save* them for next NaJuReMoNoMo.

*Ha ha. Who am I kidding? If you recommend books to me, I’ll probably read them next month. I doubt I will be able to wait for next year.

1 Comment »

  1. Glad to have you on board. You are a charter NaJuReMoNoMo-er after all. I read Golden Compass quite a while ago and enjoyed it. My sons says the later books get increasingly stranger.

    Comment by yellojkt — 31 Dec 2007 @ 6:11 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

