Lab Cat

8 May 2007

Musical Interludes and Gossip

Filed under: Music, Personal — Cat @ 10:46 pm

Just a quick post so that you know I haven’t forgotten about the blog. I have, for some, reason, been totally swamped with…

  1. The weather is nice gorgeous, so I’ve been out in the garden when I can.
  2. The end of the semester is next week, so I have to help the students with the final stages of their product development as they have a college wide launch on Monday.
  3. I am preparing a talk for a local company. Called “Food Fit to Eat” and is meant to be a starting point of a discussion about whether organic, natural, phytochemicals make us healthier. I hope to write a post or two based on this talk, but that will have to wait a few days or so.
  4. My choir has a concert on Friday (eek, Friday) night. We are singing some very unusual* pieces:

Eric Whitacre’s Hebrew Love SongsRene Clausen’s Gloria

Norman Dello Joio’s Of Crows and Clusters

Lloyd Pfautsch’s Musicks Empire

Joan Szymko’s The Peace of Wild Things

William L Dawson’s Ezekiel Saw the Wheel

It is a very enjoyable mixture to sing. Definitely challenging for our 100+ voice choir. We are beginning to sound great. I have grown to like all songs as they each bring something different. I seem to be struggling the most with the Gloria; not sure why.

I found a recording Of Crows and Clusters. Which is, ahem, fun*. Listen to it and you will see what I mean. If that link doesn’t work, go here or here and scroll down to find the recording.

So if you are near UD come by to hear and see us sing. It will be a great concert as we are going to be on peak performance. After all our choir director took the Chorale to Estonia to win this and we cannot let him down now. So I’ve got some practising to do before Friday evening.

*Trying very hard to avoid “interesting” which it is, but I do not mean that in a perjorative sense.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

