Lab Cat

17 Jan 2006

Singing Aloud

Filed under: Music — Cat @ 12:20 pm

I’ve joined Newark Ecumenical Chorus for the next month and a half, while UD Schola Cantorum is on break. We are singing Beethoven’s Mass in C, with the Newark Symphony Chamber Orchestra. The concert is Feb 11, so if any one is near Newark DE at that time, it would be great to see you. This is the second time that I have sung Beethoven’s Mass in C. The first time was six years ago, with UD’s Choral Union, as the choir was called back then. It was my first experience at first choral music and I found it very challenging. I am really enjoying the rehearsals. Last night was especially fun as there were more first sopranos; I wasn’t the only one trying for the A as I was last week. There is a huge difference this time, with both knowing the piece of music and having the tools that my voice teacher has given me. Hopefully, soon I will be able to go over to Philadelphia and resume my lessons.

Other music news: My subscription to Philadelphia Orchestra restarts on Sat Jan 21. I haven’t got a clue of what we are going to hear. Unfortunately, we missed the first two of the series in the fall; one was just after my surgery. I know, I obviously lack dedication.

The Mammals have a new CD coming out in Feb and are in concert at the Tin Angel in April. I am very tempted to delay my birthday celebrations to the day of their concert to make sure there are plenty of my friends in the audience. After all, it seems as if I will be at the ACS meeting over my b’day and what kind of celebration is that?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

